Sign Up   |  
Log In
Username:
Password:
Log In
  |   Contact Us

Virginia Marriage License Info

Home   |   Local Services   |   Reception Sites   |   Specials & Deals   |   Community   |   Marriage License   |   Wedding Blog   |   Link To Us   |   About Us
If you are planning to have your wedding in the state of Virginia, you will need to keep in mind the legal aspects of the wedding that need to be taken care of. To apply for a marriage license in Virginia, you can usually go to any of the clerk offices in the county you choose to get married in. These clerk offices can oftentimes be found in the county probate court or the circuit court.

A one time fee of $30 is required to get a Virginia marriage license; only cash payments are accepted. You and your partner are not required to be current or previous residents of the state Virginia to get a marriage license that is valid through out the state. Once you pay for your Virginia marriage license, you and your partner will receive it right away, since there is no waiting period. There is also no waiting period for marriage, so you can get married immediately after you receive your marriage license.

It is required by the state of Virginia that you and your partner be 18 or older to get married without parental consent. You must bring birth certificates to prove your ages are legal. If you or your partner is under the age of 18, a parental form must be signed and presented as well as a certified copy of your birth certificate. If under the age of 16, the female must be pregnant or have been pregnant in the last nine months (must be examined by a doctor), the clerk will authorize the issuance of a marriage license. There must also be a parental consent signed by a legal guardian or parent of the person or persons that is 16 years of age or younger. The marriage license in Virginia will then be validated.

There are no blood tests or physical exams required of you or your partner by the state of Virginia to get a marriage license. Once you receive your marriage license, you will have 60 days before it is expired. If you or your partner were previously married, but is now widowed or divorces, the date of death or divorce will be needed. You will also need to present a copy of the divorce decree or death certificate. The death certificate and divorce decree can be ordered and obtained online.

The changing of last names will take place after the wedding ceremony. You will then be presented with a piece of paper; your marriage certificate. This will be your proof of legal marriage in the state of Virginia. The marriage certificate will need to be presented to government agencies (i.e. motor vehicles and social security), so that you can be issued with an accurate driver license and social security card. You will also need to notify non government institutions that you have done or are doing business with, such as credit card agencies, banks, memberships, employers and others.

You can also use the legal name change kit to help with the last name changing process. All of the necessary forms will need to be completed before or after your wedding; it is much more convenient for you if you complete the forms before your marriage takes place.

Marriages that are illegal in Virginia include common law marriages and marriages by proxy. Cousin marriages are allowed in Virginia.
 
 
Advertise | Business Login | Local Services | Specials & Deals | Community | Marriage License | Wedding Blog | Link To Us | About Us